University of EssexAdd to Favourites

UCAS Code: E70

Thought the harder, heart the keener.

The University of Essex has three different campuses; Loughton, Southend and Wivenhoe, which is the main campus. This is based just outside the town of Wivenhoe and is on the outskirts of Colchester. Established in 1963, it received its Royal Charter in 1965 and awarded degrees to its first graduates in 1967. The University has three faculties, comprised of Science and Health, Social Sciences and Humanities.

A member of the 1994 Group, research is a key part of the University’s history and current strategic plan (2013-2019), which states that it has a mission to contribute to society through excellence in education and excellence in research. There are currently around 14,500 students and the University is committed to expanding this number further. A large proportion of its student population come from outside of the UK, and a third of its undergraduates are from working-class homes.

UK Average


  • PhD (TBC)

United Kingdom





  • Eastern ARC
Local Map